Health insurance 2020: These 14 states have their own open enrollment periods and websites for signing up for ACA insurance

Everything you need to know if you live in one of them

President Biden has opened a special enrollment period for the Affordable Care Act health insurance plans for 2021. You can now enroll in one of these plans until August 15, 2021, at However, there are 14 states that have their own insurance marketplaces and their own open enrollment dates. If you live in one of these 14 states, you can’t enroll in an ACA health insurance plan through—you have to use your state’s marketplace to do so. Here are the open enrollment periods for these 14 states along with links to their marketplaces:

  1. California : November 1, 2020—May 15, 2021
  2. Colorado: November 1, 2020—August 15, 2021
  3. Connecticut: November 1, 2020—April 15, 2021
  4. DC: November 1, 2020—Through the end of the COVID-19 Pandemic
  5. Idaho: November 1, 2020—April 30, 2021
  6. Maryland: November 1, 2020—August 15, 2021
  7. Massachusetts: November 1, 2020—July 23, 2021
  8. Minnesota: November 1, 2020—May 17, 2021
  9. Nevada: November 1, 2020–May 15, 2021
  10. New Jersey: November 1, 2020–Remainder of 2021
  11. New York: November 1, 2020–May 15, 2021
  12. Rhode Island: November 1, 2020—August 15, 2021
  13. Vermont: November 1, 2020—May 14, 2021
  14. Washington: November 1, 2020—May 15, 2021

If your state is not listed above, open enrollment for ACA plans will be November 1, 2020 through August 15, 2021.

Find out more about how to get yourself covered and learn what types of plans to watch out for.

Written by Lauren Kernan, MA

Lauren Kernan is the Director of Content and UX Strategy at Bedsider. In her spare time, she makes paper flowers for her Etsy shop, reads about body positivity, and watches videos of her nephew over and over.

Want to learn more?

Select one of the related topics to find more.

? Comments
Show Comments
Subscribe to Frisky Fridays

Heat up your weekends with our best sex tips and so much more.